Getting Ready….

We leave for Tanzania in almost exactly 5 days, and I still cannot believe that I am actually going. Today I did a large part of my packing. Part of me thinks that I am going to have a single limp bag that has almost nothing in it, and the other part thinks that I am going to end up having a full bag and possibly spilling over into a second bag. So all this really tells me is that I am not even close to ready.

I can’t decide if I am more excited or nervous about this trip. I’m excited because this is going to be an experience like none that I have ever had before. I am going to be seeing and doing things that other people only dream about. But on the other hand I am worried that I will do terrible in the classroom. Or that I will find out that I do not like being in the classroom when I am the actual teacher. I have only ever observed or volunteered in a classroom. I am a little nervous about homesickness. I am very close with my family and my boyfriend of 4 years. But I’m hoping that I have grown enough as a person to realize that those people are there 90% of the time and that there is no need to miss them because they will always be there when I get back.

Oh god and my swahili. I am so terrible!

In other news, I’s sick. I have a sore throat and a cough and all I can say is that this is just my luck! I’m hoping that by Thursday I will be all better.

Amanda

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

