Leaving for Tanzania

I have so many different feelings about heading to Tanzania on Friday. It feels so close, yet so far away. I am so excited, nervous, and anxious. I think that I am feeling nearly every emotion that ever existed. I’m very close to my family, particularly my mom who makes me talk to her nearly every day, so this is definitely out of my comfort zone to go somewhere on my own. One of my professors this semester kept saying “there is no growth in the comfort zone and no comfort in the growth zone” and I’m so excited to be going out of my comfort zone and to have my life changed in a way I never saw possible. There have been many changes in my life recently, and this is going to be the best thing to happen to me all year for sure.

I have always wanted to go to Africa, but this trip was never on my radar. Dr. Kasmer is my advisor and I also had her for a math class. She was very persistent in that I needed to apply. I think that her tenacious pressure to apply is just the push I needed, and I couldn’t be more grateful. With the semester being over and my last few days at home, I’m trying to prepare everything. I’m definitely a food lover, but also very picky so my snacks are high on my priority list! I can’t wait to take in the new culture, language and people there. I have a feeling that Tanzania will keep a piece of my heart forever long after I leave.

Megan Peters

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

