5 days…

It is so surreal to me that in 5 short days I will be boarding a plane and beginning my journey in Tanzania. As I sit here thinking about and preparing for my trip I am filled with just about every emotion. I am excited, nervous, anxious, overwhelmed, and even a little bit scared. Excitement definitely outweighs my other emotions because  having the opportunity to experience life in Tanzania for a month, especially through teaching is absolutely incredible. Teaching has been my passion and something that I have wanted to do for as long as I remember and being able to do this in a different country is something I never thought would be able to do, but something I will forever be grateful for. I am so blessed to have an amazing family and support system who has made going on this trip possible! Knowing that I will be in charge of my own classroom, teaching students and planning lessons, alone just makes me smile. What makes me even more happier is knowing we get to volunteer at an orphanage, go on a safari, and climb Mount Kilimanjaro.

As my list of things to do this week continue to grow and my stress level rises because I absolutely suck at packing I still can smile thinking about all the memories that are about to be created. Through the midst of my crazy and busy life being able to go on this trip is something I would never trade for the world. It is weird to think that I will be away from my family and friends for that long, but it also is exciting to think about how much knowledge, insight, and memories I will gain in just a month.

All in all, I have 5 days to prepare myself for this trip of a lifetime and I am ready for the challenge and to experience something so different than I ever have! Also, another thing I just remembered that needs to be added is refreshing myself on our Swahili and also the Hakuna Matata song so I can board the plane! 🙂

-Alexandra Stam

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5 days…

  1. Squid says:

    Cannot wait to hear all about it! So proud of you and will be praying for you every day. Love you!

    Like

  2. lynette says:

    Proud of you young lady

    Like

  3. Vi M. says:

    I definitely will be following your blog — we will miss you here. Sending our love with you!!!

    Like

  4. Vi M. says:

    Very interesting Alex!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

