Getting Ready

The past couple months have both flown by and dragged on. I can’t believe that in just 1 day, 21 hours, 6 minutes, and 5 seconds my plane will be taking off from Grand Rapids (of course I have a countdown on my phone!). Getting ready for this trip has been incredibly stressful but also a ton of fun. From shopping for skirts with my mom to searching store after store for exactly what I want and always coming back forgetting something, it’s strange that it’s time to pack it all into my suitcase. Actually, I haven’t even started packing yet!

Being the only science major going on the trip is also stressful. Unlike the other majors, I have had to plan and write a unit plan that I will teach while at Meru Primary. Unit plans take a lot of time, but I’m almost done! It’s difficult to write lessons for a group of children that I know nothing about and that I will be teaching in a very different setting with very little materials. I also have no idea what grade I will be in until I arrive, so my lessons have to be flexible.

I also have a really terrible head cold that I’m trying to get rid of before I leave. It’s hard to get a lot of rest while I have so much to do, so I’m trying  to fight this with a concoction of medicines and vitamins- hopefully it works!

My next post will be while I’m Tanzania, isn’t that crazy!?

This entry was posted in Getting Ready for Tanzania!. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Ready

  1. Tanya Lilley says:

    So. Proud. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

