Safari Weekend!

This past weekend, our first full weekend in Tanzania we had a 4 day safari at the Serengeti National Park and the Ngorongoro Crater. We saw so many different animals in the wild. We saw elephants, zebras, wildebeests, antelopes, gazelles which is a type of antelope, giraffes, some lions, and a ton of birds that I can’t remember the name of. We also saw hippos and a rhino in the crater. A lot of the animals that we in the crater we had already seen, but it was so cool to see the rhino there and the elephants again. A lot of us were not excited to see the zebras and wildebeests because there are so many in the national park that we wanted to see the cooler animals like the lions, leopards, and cheetahs. Unfortunately we didn’t see any cheetahs but we did see lions. We saw lions close up and a couple groups saw lions even closer than what I saw! We did see a leapord but it was asleep in the tree and far away. I am relying on other people for pictures because they have the fancy cameras. We did get to see many animals really up close in order to take “selfies” with them. I was able to take “selfies” with the giraffes, elephants, and hippos. We stayed at a really nice lodge in the Serengeti for two nights and a similar lodge by the same people in the Ngorongoro Crater. The wi-fi was stronger there so I was able to FaceTime my family and my boyfriend over the long weekend. It was my first time being able to speak with them and it was really nice to hear from them after being here for 12 days.

Being on safari was definitely exhausting, but seeing the animals in their natural habitat was worth it.I have never been so close to wild animals before, it really was amazing. I don’t have any idea if I will ever have this opportunity again so I am so thankful for taking this trip and being able to experience safari. The scenery on the way there and around the parks were unbelievable.  No words can describe the views I saw. The view of the crater was amazing, when we got to our lodge all of us just hung out on our balconies looking at the view. The sunrise and sunset on the Serengeti was beautiful! I’ve never seen something so great! I took many pictures of the views I saw but it’s not the same as actually seeing it for yourself. So, if you ever have the chance, go on Safari in Tanzania, you won’t regret it.

We spent a lot of time in the car the past 4 days and I am really glad we don’t have to do that for a while. I am excited to go back to school tomorrow because I was missing the kids. I’m sure they are missing us to so I won’t be surprised if we get attacked like the first couple days of school. Looking forward to a good nights sleep back at the Outpost and a special surprise for dinner 🙂

This entry was posted in On Safari. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment