Safari

Safari 5/12

Safari was absolutely amazing! Four days in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater was beyond anything that I could have hoped for. The plants, animals, people and spectacular views made for a weekend that I will never forget. This trip came at a perfect time, just as I was starting to get homesick and needed a change of scenery and to be able to talk to my friends and family from home.

I am still in awe of just how beautiful everything was. The hundreds of pictures that I took do not do it any justice at all. From the winding roads lined with lush forests to the plains that stretch for miles to the clear blue skies and the clouds that covered the crater, it’s something that I’ll never forget and never be able to fully describe.

I am completely surprised by the amount of animals that we saw! I really did not think that we would see elephants, giraffes, and lions multiple times a day or that they would come within feet of our safari truck. The elephants, especially the babies, were by far my favorite part. I could sit for hours and watch them play and interact with one another. On the other hand, I have seen enough wildebeest and zebra to last a lifetime. The herds would stretch as far as we could see. It was amazing to be able to see so many animals together at once.

The people here are so outgoing and so nice, it was my favorite part of the trip. I miss our safari drivers already! Being in a car all day I was able to learn so much about them, their families, their lives, and Tanzania. They are so knowledgeable about the plants, animals, and environment and I have learned so much from them this weekend. They are some of the nicest and funniest people that I have ever met and I look forward to seeing them again.

Being back at the outpost is like coming home! I have grown to love this place and I can’t wait to sleep in my bed tonight! I also miss my kids and teachers; seeing them tomorrow is going to be great!

This entry was posted in On Safari. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

