Hamna Shida

The past three weeks in Tanzania has given me the opportunity to not only experience a new culture but to become an active member in their education system. Being a teacher in the Tanzanian education system has taught me to the true meaning of “hamna shida or in other words “no worries”. I have learned that there is no point in worrying about how bad a lesson turned out or how much of a fool you have made of yourself because at the end of the day, there is always tomorrow. Tomorrow will provide a new opportunity to try again and start fresh. As a future teacher I have to learn to not be so hard on myself when something goes wrong in a lesson, being here in Tanzania has given me the opportunity to do just that. My hope is to apply this motto to my future teaching in America.

I have also learned how to use the resources available to me, for example while teaching opposites or antonyms I used pencils to differentiate the difference between sharp an blunt, books to demonstrate thick and thin. Having very little resources available to me was one of the biggest challenges I faced here but I learned to maneuver around this and use my creativity to make my lessons work out. I have learned many classroom management strategies while teaching; I have used stickers, time outs, taking away stickers, moving students and a many mores. This trip has taught me so many things and has helped me put into practice many strategies that I have learned in my college career. I hope that the remaining days here are just as fulfilling as the first days.

-Mayra

This entry was posted in What I've Learned So Far. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

