What I’ve Learned: Hamna Shida

What I’ve Learned: Hamna Shida 5/22

When I told people that I was going on a trip to Africa to teach, most people responded saying that the students were going to benefit and learn so much from me. While I’m sure that my students have benefited, I have also learned so much in the short time that I have been here.

I have learned so much about myself as a teacher and as a person in general. Being able to try new teaching and management techniques has been great. I have definitely learned some things that do and do not work for me and some things that I will be able to use in my future classroom. I have also been thrown into classroom with no time to prepare a lesson and so I have learned that I can think on my feet much faster and better than I thought I could.

I have always enjoyed working with lower elementary much more than upper and I was nervous about teaching 6th grade. But I love my kids and I am going to miss them so much. Learning Hindi and Kiswahili from them and hearing about their home lives and their families and building relationships with them was the best part of being here.

The Tanzanian people are all incredibly kind and generous and I have met so many wonderful people here. I have learned so much from them. So many people here are determined and hardworking individuals. Despite having so little, everyone has such a positive outlook on life and is so happy. I have met some individuals who have gone through some very difficult things in life, but they are so happy today and they use those things as motivation to continue to be happy. Hamna shida is a Kiswahili phrase that means no problem, no worries, or everything will be okay. The Tanzanian people live this every day.

This entry was posted in What I've Learned So Far. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

