What I’ve learned so far …

While teaching in Tanzania I’ve learned to go with the flow. I’ve learned to think on my feet and to be resourceful. There have been plenty of times where I have had to teach classes that are not my specialty (civics, physics, etc.) but I’ve been able to draw from my previous knowledge from past courses to give my students a good lesson where they learned something new. I have really tried to let my students know that their needs come first not how far we get into a lesson so I think that this has made our classroom a more of an inviting area for questions.

Additionally, I learned that although students in Tanzania are not used to learning through in-class activities or in groups they are very much interested. I incorporated an activity in my Form 3 class where students were able to discover properties of cyclic quadrilaterals on their own versus me just giving them definitions and they loved it! They loved being able to discuss ideas with one another, and for them having the ability to manipulate something was a great break from just copying my chalk board notes into their notebooks.

Lastly, I have learned that my students here are just like my student in America. They don’t do their homework (sometimes), they love to play with their friends, but most of all they mean well. I have gotten to know my students so much more this week and they are so funny, all with their own very unique personality! Teaching these students has definitely been a great experience!

This entry was posted in What I've Learned So Far. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

