Coming Home (toughest part of the trip)

As I began to contemplate and process the time I spent in Tanzania a few things come to mind. For one I want to go back and teach there. A large part of me feels I have some unfinished business in that part of the world. Whatever that may be I don’t know yet but its a very exciting prospect to think about making another journey there.

An impression that will forever stick with me is how grateful, hard working, and resourceful the people of Tanzania really are. Yea at times on the street I would get slightly annoyed about being haggled into buying a bracelet or a painting. But I understand these men are salesmen trying to make a living and put food on there table. Just like anyone else on the world. How can I be annoyed by that. Trying to survive like the rest of the human race.The people there have less then we do in the USA and yet they seem so much happier to me. I am almost envious of them because of that genuine happiness. Money or possessions doesn’t buy happiness! At time I feel so overstimulated by the things I have here in the states that I wish I could live in a simpler time with no cell phones and less technology. I am not saying they don’t have those things in Tanzania. I just think life is simpler and slower there because it is still a developing country. It is gaining more technology as the country develops more. This then becomes a double edged sword as I stated above.

I really miss my students very much. That has really been weighing on my mind as I think about my last impressions of this trip. They were so grateful and eager to learn. So much so that the greatest punishment against them would be to deny them education by kicking them out of the class. It was interesting to see the parallel of students in the USA who get kicked out of class or miss school, don’t usually mind at all.While in Tanzania denying them education would be like depriving them of oxygen. I have never seen students that eager to learn in my life. It was so refreshing. I really began to realize as well how quickly kids grow up in Tanzania. My Standard 6 and 7th grade students knew so much about the political climate in East Africa. It really took me aback and gave me thirst to learn more about politics on my side of the world.

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

