Coming Home

Coming Home 6.1

I miss Tanzania so much.

Coming home was so bittersweet. I missed my family and my friends and it is great to be able to see them again. Being able to use my phone whenever I want is strange and still takes some getting used to. I missed apples, peanut butter, and cereal so much. And my dog! I also missed toilets that actually flush.

I miss the Tanzanians. They are so nice and honest and laid back. They genuinely care about you, even if you are just a stranger. They will go completely out of their way to help you. Americans aren’t like that. Americans tend to be very self-centered. I love my family and friends, but the Tanzanians are so much different. Here I feel like there is so much pressure to act a certain way and to be a certain person and to say certain things. There isn’t any room to say what you really mean without offending someone.

All I want to do is talk about Tanzania and the people and my experiences. Before I left I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to put my thoughts into words. I still can’t describe much of what I experienced. But it really doesn’t even matter because people don’t really want to hear about it. I thought that everyone would be asking a million questions and would listen to me talk for hours about my trip, but it’s almost the opposite. After a few questions and a few pictures people tend to lose interest.

I miss my students and teachers and friends from Tanzania. I have never wanted something more than to go back.
   
 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

