Lasting Impressions

Now that I have been home for a few days it’s hard to believe where I just came from. When I think about the trip and my experiences it almost doesn’t seem real but then I look at my photos and I remember that it was real and it was amazing. Going into the trip I didn’t have any idea what to expect and what I pictured in my head was far from what I saw when we arrived. Tanzania is such a peaceful place with the most friendliest people I have ever met on Earth and I am glad I got the opportunity to experience this beautiful country. As we were nearing the end of our adventure I remember telling myself and others that I didn’t think it would be that hard to leave. I didn’t say this because I didn’t enjoy the trip I said this because I wasn’t sure that I had really gotten attached to the people and the environment.

Oh boy was I wrong! The last day there was so incredibly hard to say goodbye to all the amazing people especially the students and the peaceful environment. Tanzania led me to appreciate the kindness and friendliness these people offered because there certainly is a difference between them and Americans. I absolutely miss walking down the street and stopping to talk to a complete stranger and have their full undivided attention. I couldn’t believe really how attached I had become to my students until I had to say goodbye. It was probably the hardest thing I had to do the entire trip. I know many of the people of this trip thought that climbing Mt. Kilimargaro was the hardest but I think I could do that tens times over before having to say goodbye to those kids again.

As I am getting back into life here in America I realize so many things that I used to worry about don’t seem to matter as much anymore. Although I have found that while being in Tanzania my stress level was much lower and now that I am back home I have a million things that I am thinking about at once that need to get done. I miss that stress free atmosphere and just the overall attitude of the people that everything will be okay. In my life in America I want to carry over some of that friendly, carefree, nature that I learned from the Tanzanians. I am still processing my experience and learning from the people everyday and I know they will forever hold a special place in my heart.

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

