Lasting Impressions

Being back at home took some adjusting, especially with the time zone. But after a couple days, I’m back in my routine. It feels odd. My summer jobs do not start until next week, so I feel as if I’m just waiting around for something to happen. I miss being busy and feeling productive. Next week, I’ll be so happy to have a work schedule and not be sitting around wondering what to do. I keep looking back on the trip and it’s still surreal that it happened and everything I got to do.

It’s reminded me of how privileged I am. Not just that I got to go on a trip to Africa, but just everything I have here at home. Each morning I can have a hot shower, I can drink the tap water, I can have whatever I want to eat, I have reliable internet and electricity, and I can drive myself to wherever I need to go. I don’t have to worry about clean water, food, and shelter. I have it all and then some. It’s odd looking in our fridge at lunch time and seeing all the food options after not regularly eating lunch. I have pens and pencils and rulers shoved in drawers not being used and the children I taught didn’t always have one. If I need anything, I can go out and buy it for myself. It’s reminded me to be thankful for all I have and limit my complaining.

I also just to want to travel. I want to see more of the world. I’ve always wanted to travel, this has just made the desire stronger. I want to revisit the places I saw as a child and travel to the list of places I’ve always wanted to go. I want to see and experience different cultures and people and foods and places. I want to teach aboard again as well. Maybe one day I’ll return to Tanzania and revisit the school I taught at. I’d love to do so and possibly have the chance to see some of my past students.

Again, it feels odd being home. I’m happy to be home, but it feels different. Perhaps because my perspective is different now. I’m so thankful for this trip and all it’s allowed me to do and I’m looking forward to applying what I’ve learned into my life.

About Brittany

A strong love for mathematics and the visual arts. Passionate about teaching and helping others. A life-long learner and adventurer.
This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

