Lasting Impressions

The month spent in Tanzania was the greatest opportunity, adventure, and experience I have ever had. I not only learned about the Tanzanian culture and education system and people, I also learned a lot about myself. Being back home in the States has been bittersweet. I miss Tanzania so much, but it’s nice being back home with my family. The experiences, the culture, and the people are the three things that have left lasting impressions on my life.

I am so blessed to have been able to go on this study abroad trip. This opportunity has opened my eyes and mind to the world and to my future. I am fully content with choosing teaching as my future. I love working with children, and I love making a positive impact on their lives. Teaching in Tanzania was such an amazing experience, and I would love to teach in another country down the road. Not only did my students at Assumption learn a lot from me, I also learned a lot from them. This trip also made me realize the importance of traveling and seeing the amazing world God created. The Sergenti, Ngorogoro Crater, and Mount Kilimanjaro were just some of the beautiful creations I got to experience. I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to go on this awesome trip.

The culture is obviously very different than in the United States of America. The beliefs, food, and way of life are the three things that are most different. Coming back to the States it really hit my how fast pace it is here. People are constantly moving and stressing about doing things and being on time. In Tanzania, life seemed more relaxed and slower. There wasn’t nearly as much structure and routine there as there is here. People showed up late all the time, which was something I had to get used to. I had a hard time adjusting to the food when I went to Tanzania and when I came back to America, because I went from processed food, to fresh/pure food, back to processed food. I am just now getting back to normal.

The Tanzanian people are some of the hardest working, determined, kindest, most welcoming humans I have ever met. From the very first day, they all wanted to get to know us and wanted us to feel at home in Tanzania. These people showed me what it’s like to be thankful for the littlest things, and to be selfless and caring no matter what. The friendships I made with all the teachers and students at Assumption Primary School will forever be in my heart. I’ve never smiled and laughed so much in my life. The showed me unfailing love the whole time I was there. I’ve been emailing and Facebook messaging some of them, and I hope I continue to keep in contact with them. I miss all the people I met in Tanzania so very much. Hopefully I will be able to visit them again in the near future.

-Molly

About mccainmo

MI | Grand Valley State University | Junior | Bachelor of Science degree in CSAT and Special Education with Elementary Certification and Dual Endorsements in Cognitive Impairments and Emotional Impairments
This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

