Lasting Impressions

It is nearly impossible to put into words how incredible the past month in Tanzania was. A month ago I was feeling just about every emotion as I was preparing and today I am feeling like I am out of place back in America. Tanzania is a place that will forever hold a special place in my heart. Since I had to be at camp the next morning after returning home it has been extremely difficult to actually sit and process the past month and also to explain to people just how life changing my experience was. I have been finding it difficult to put everything into words. I truly believe that in order for people to actually understand, they need to experience a trip like this for themselves.

The atmosphere and environment in Tanzania is something indescribable and is a lifestyle so different than here in America. I can definitely say that Tanzanians are some of the most genuine and kind-hearted people I have ever met. They may not have a lot, but what they do have is constant smiles on their faces and conversations that will make your day. Each and every Tanzanian are grateful for what they do have and even when things may not be going as they hope you never will hear a single complaint. Life in Tanzania is so relaxed and people live a lifestyle where their daily schedules are not filled with appointments, meetings, activities, and so on. They are not stressed about making sure they accomplish everything on their to-do list and are not running from thing to thing. They enjoy their day and what they have to do, but do not stress or worry at all. It was definitely good for me because I am usually the type of person that has way to many things to accomplish throughout the day and a to-do list a mile long.

Experiencing the Special Education School at Jaffery’s was something that I will never forget. Since even getting to see the school and meeting the students was a challenge in itself, it was terrific when we found out that we could finally help out in the school for a few days. The headmaster at this school is the most inspirational woman I have ever met. She had a dream less than 10 years ago to open a school for students with disabilities and she did just that. She has an enormous amount of passion for what she does and is continuously pushing for things that are going to better her students. She also is the most self-less and dedicated woman. She is doing anything and everything she can possibly do to not only ensure that her students are being taken care of, but also spreading awareness and encouraging people to advocate for people with disabilities.

Overall, experiencing Tanzania is something that I will never forget and will be something that I know I will be talking about for years and years to come. I would absolutely love to go back one day and be able to experience it all over again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

