Lasting Impressions from TZ

Tanzania has made a major change/difference in my life. There are so many lasting impressions that this experience has left on my life. It doesn’t even seem real that I was just in another country for a whole month/4 weeks. Everyone here keeps saying, “Wow your back already!” When I think about it, I feel like I was just here but when I was there it felt like forever. I am currently in the process of making my photo albums for all of my pictures, which constantly brings back the amazing memories.

Being home has really been a BIG change. I am still having trouble sleeping because my body naturally wakes up at 5am thinking its lunch time or feeling like I should be doing something more than sleeping. However, I feel amazing to not wake up every 5 minutes to dogs barking and howling in the middle of the night. So there are many things that I am excited to be away from, but there are so many more things that I am really missing. I really miss waking up and seeing the happy people at the Out-Post and on the streets. My friend that was always at the end of Serengeti road would always tell me good morning and ask how I was doing. I never thought I would say this but I actually miss out walk to Arusha Primary School every morning. Going up the hill was never fun but in the end that walk just made you feel good early in the morning. So now my dog and I go for our walks in the morning around my subdivision to make up for my morning Tanzania walks. It’s definitely not the same without seeing the amazing people on the streets but I am adjusting.

When we were in Tanzania, I had a really hard time teaching because of the behavior management situation. So I really didn’t think that the teaching made an impression on my life; but little did I know I have missed those kids more than anything. I have told every person that will listen about each and every one of my students. I had my students (2nd standard/grade) write me a letter about something that they liked most about my teaching. I have read the letters multiple times and my heart melts every time. Thinking about how much the kids loved and welcomed us as visiting teachers every morning and how much they just loved to play and talk with us really over shines the struggle of the behavior issues. Those kids made an ever-lasting impression on my life and my heart and I will never forget this amazing teaching and overall experience.

~Fawn T

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

