Lasting Impressions

As much as I love sleeping in my own bed again, I still wake up every morning disappointed to find that I am not in Tanzania anymore. The time that we were there flew by and before we all knew it the time had come to say our goodbyes. Although our visit there seemed brief, there is so much that I learned and will carry with me for the rest of my life. These things that I have learned will influence my life as a teacher, as well as my personal outlook on life and my future aspirations.
Being in a Tanzanian classroom taught me so much. As a teacher it is always important to be flexible. Things don’t always go the way you planned, and, as I learned, sometimes you may not have time to plan in advance. A lot of times I wouldn’t know what I was teaching until the day of. This forced me to think on my feet. I grew in my ability to make instructional decisions based on the needs and abilities of my students as I taught.
My time in the classroom also showed me an unconditional love that I had never felt before. My students were amazing and we built such strong relationships in such a short time. Yes, there were times when my students would be driving me crazy, but five minutes later I would have the biggest smile on my face because of them. Even students who were constantly in trouble and I felt like I was yelling at all the time would be hugging me as they left for lunch. I have never felt so loved in my life and I will carry their love with me forever.
Being back home and seeing all of the stuff we have is just crazy to me now. I feel a sense of guilt that I have so much while the people in Tanzania have so little. The thing that makes me feel even more guilty is the fact that myself and others complain so frequently about our lives. I never once heard any of the Tanzanians I met complain. They have so little, yet they are some of the happiest people I have ever met. The students at my school spent their free time playing with rocks and avocado pits and they were completely content. Kids here at home have so many gadgets and toys, but they are always wanting more. I feel like our society holds the belief that more possessions equal more happiness. However, that is not true and I believe we could learn a lot from the people of Tanzania.
I could go on and on about the things I have taken away from this amazing experience. My life will honestly never be the same. There is a whole world to explore and learn from and I am hoping that Tanzania is just the first of many adventures in my life.

image

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lasting Impressions

  1. Pingback: Other blog posts.. | Morgan's Study Abroad Adventure

Leave a Reply

