Lasting Impressions – Kylie Jones

It was really hard to leave the students on the last day.  During my half and final day at Prime we preformed the play that I had been working on with the 6th graders.  At first I thought doing a play would be a fun and simple task with the students and then I realized that it was going to be a lot more work than I ever imagined.  The 6th graders had never acted in a play or and they have never memorized lines so I knew it was going to be a challenge especially when I found out that we were going to perform the play in front of the entire school in a week.  So I decided to do three plays, the Three Little Zebras, Cinderella, and Snow White. I made scripts for each of the plays, assigned parts, and coordinated where everyone was going to stand.  The students were very excited and I worked to make it a great learning experience for them.

The day before the play I was very nervous about the performance because the students were just not where I wanted them to be for the performance being the next day but I just had the attitude that it will be whatever it will be.  And honestly Wednesday came and they were absolutely fantastic.  Honestly they memorized all of their lines, remembered all of the cues and where they were supposed to stand and the ones who were off stage stayed quiet.  They made me so proud and they had so much fun.  Honestly doing this performance with them brought me so close to the 6th graders so this made leaving them so much harder.

The question that many students asked me was are you going to be coming back.  Honestly this questions is very hard for me to answer.  I didn’t say yes and I didn’t say no.  Honestly after I finish my year of college I will have the opportunity to get a job in a different state or different county.  And honestly I don’t want to rule out any area.  If I think after I graduate I want to go back and teach in Tanzania I will.  I absolutely fell in love with the students and I would love to be able to see them again but it is hard to tell exactly where and when I will get a job opportunity, but I would like to think that I would be willing to be open to going anywhere.

This entry was posted in Lasting Impressions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

